Home > Weekly Updates > 35: 87.5% of 40

35: 87.5% of 40

35 weeks.  5 weeks to EDD.  5 working days to maternity leave.

Yes, there wasn’t an update for 34 weeks.  Work was insanely crazy, and then I fell ill.  Which makes these last few days of work even more crazy – and makes them seem to be passing oh so very quickly.  I don’t feel I have time to breathe, but realistically I should just not worry about it.  If something isn’t done when I leave, no one’s going to be annoyed with me – I’d just like it to not happen because I like the people I work with.  But they’re already telling me to relax, not worry about it – nice people, huh?  But relax isn’t really my default mode.

I finally feel it’s safe to say I can deliver at my chosen hospital if something happens and Sparky comes now.  When I registered at the maternity unit I’m certain the nurse said before 32 weeks I’d be transferred to another hospital, but then I read one of the many brochures and it said 34 weeks – and now I’m 35.  While walking our dogs last week, The Fertile One said she’ll bring me sushi and blue cheese while in in hospital.  It’s funny – she can imagine me there with Sparky, and I still have trouble.  When is this going to feel real for me?  I hope it feels real when he’s actually here; I’d hate for the experience to be dulled by my inability to accept that he’s real and hopefully going to be a long term part of my life.

I manned up and did a load of Sparky clothes the weekend before last – dried inside on a rack near our fantastic new heat pump instead of outside where my neighbour’s wood fire would smokey them up.  My husband cleaned out Sparky’s wardrobe; I just have to cover the shelves and start putting his things away.  The weekend before last I visited the home of the friend who was induced a week ago; her daughter’s room looked so cheery and ready!  Sparky deserves that.  My excuse this last week to avoid working his room was I didn’t want to get my head cold ridden paws all over everything!  But I think that’s fair enough.

Most nights now my husband sleeps in our normal bedroom – I’m still in the spare bedroom, downstairs near the loo.  We haven’t had a falling out; I just sleep SO much better when I don’t have his snoring keeping me awake.  He probably sleeps much better without me constantly saying ‘please stop snoring’ and ‘try turning onto your other side’ etc while he’s asleep.  So now it’s just me, Sparky, my dog, and the approximately 400 pillows I need to prop myself up and be reasonably comfy in bed.  I still wake up for a couple hours in the middle of the night and get up and down for water and trips to the loo, but snoring doesn’t keep me awake.  Much better sleep!  We’re trying to figure out why he snores some nights and not others so we can predict better when he should stay upstairs – however just 5 more working days and I won’t care because I’ll be able to sleep in!

I saw my obstetrician on Friday.  It was fairly routine.  The only thing I brought up was how bad my reflux is; normal stuff from the chemist just doesn’t touch it any more and it interferes with my precious sleep.  There have been times it’s been so bad I’ve vomited.  He prescribed Ranitidine Sandoz, which I just take a little while before going to bed.  It’s been so much better!  A couple times I’ve started to have an acidy feeling, but it’s not developed into the pain party it used to.

My next appointment wasn’t going to be until the 22nd, but after going into hospital the other day to have my blood pressure monitored I’m going in this Friday too.  I was supposed to switch to weekly appointments after my next appointment anyway, so I guess I’m there now!!

I absolutely can’t believe that Saturday I’m going to antenatal class.  I have no idea what to expect, but I guess I don’t have to – it will happen anyway.  From the time it was scheduled it always seemed so far away and so recklessly close to my due date, but here it is this Saturday.  This Saturday.  And one more week to maternity leave!!

Physically I’m doing OK.  Sometimes I am quite uncomfortable and wonder how I can possibly go on, but those moments are infrequent and probably just when Little Spark gets into a strange position.  For the most part I’m OK – walking isn’t wildly comfortable, I’m exhausted, my soft palette is still sensitive so brushing my teeth puts me in danger of vomiting, my organs are being squished so I can’t breath deeply or eat much, standing still is horrible, but really it’s all fairly nothing.  Certainly worth putting up with when I also get to feel the little chap wiggling away in there or hiccuping.  I’m finally enjoying him being in there; it’s the most amazing thing to feel him move.  I can’t wait to be able to bushwalk again, but I really enjoy antenatal aqua aerobics as I can exercise and be supported by the water.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin alternate days (I’m going to tell him I’m stopping it at the end of the week)
  • Ranitidine Sandoz 150mg
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 15 July: Next OB appointment
  • 16 July: Antenatal class
  • 19 July: Doctor’s session (another info session at the hospital)
  • 20 July: 36 weeks; last day at work! (5 working days left)
  • 22 July: OB appointment
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 13/07/2011 at 12:04 pm

    in out household, I snore. Yep, that’s right.

    At first when we started living together, my hubby was driving me MAD waking me up all the time to make me stop snoring, With time, though, he got used to it – he rarely gets bothered now. And I got used to it to – I rarely really wake up now even if he asks me to stop snoring.

    5 weeks to go!!! wow!

  2. 13/07/2011 at 12:32 pm

    I WISH I had a spare bed when I was PG. DH is a terrible snorer. Enjoy the sleep for now till that little man arrives!

  3. a
    13/07/2011 at 2:15 pm

    My husband had to go sleep in our spare room when I was pregnant because I wouldn’t stop snoring. I think I probably told you this before.

    Glad to hear that you’re finally enjoying some pregnant moments…now that it’s almost over!

  4. 13/07/2011 at 3:14 pm

    I thought I’d somehow missed 34 weeks – but no, it was you!

    What a relief it must be to know you can go to the chosen hospital and only 5 more work days – hurray! Soon Lottie will be a very happy pup to have you home a bit more. Have fun at the antenatal class too – I can’t imagine what they do there but I’m sure it will be interesting.

    Five weeks to go – wow, that sounds like such a short period of time! Of course there must be times when it seems ages away, but you’re almost done!

  5. 13/07/2011 at 5:30 pm

    Hi there! Found your blog through some mutual bloggy friends. I’m so sad I’m just now finding you! All of our dates are the same. Transfer, beta, and due date all line up! How fun!

  6. 13/07/2011 at 5:51 pm

    It all sounds so routine and normal, and let me tell you that you forgot to mention the shortness of breath that leads to panicky feelings of impending doom (oh, maybe that is just me). Hey, we asked for it, didn’t we? I take nexium for heartburn, it really helps a lot.

  7. 13/07/2011 at 7:29 pm

    WOW! It is all getting close now and I am so glad to hear you are stopping work soon so you can have more time to finish Sparky’s room the way you want and get some rest. 35 weeks sounds brilliant. Getting so excited for you as the reality of this happy ending at last starts to settle in.

  8. 14/07/2011 at 3:02 am

    Sounds like we are very much in the same place with the annoying symptoms (the reflux is so awful – glad you found something that helps) and also with daring to actually feel happy at long last!

  9. 14/07/2011 at 4:25 am

    I am jealous that you get to go on mat leave so soon! I am planning on working until I go into labor. Enjoy the prenatal class!

  10. 14/07/2011 at 4:40 am

    Glad they’re watching your bp closely & so excited for you as you near the end of this pregnancy! Been thinking of you lots and although I’m not on here as much since we’re spending most of our time at the hospital I continue to send many positive thoughts your way my friend.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

