Home > Weekly Updates > 36: 90% of 40

36: 90% of 40

36 weeks.  4 weeks to EDD.  the last day before maternity leave.

I’ve knocked off several dates on the milestones below this week!  Another OB visit, the antenatal class, and last night the final hospital info session with the pediatrician and the anesthetist.  The session last night was fine, though sitting for another 2 hours when I’d been sitting at work all day and not getting dinner until 8:30 was a bit annoying.  But information-wise it was worth two hours of my life.  Strangely enough I thought the most valuable thing last night was a DVD they showed.  It was about what is normal for newborns, i.e various rashes, discolorations, bizarre head shapes, bruising, swellings, etc.  I thought it was great because of course we’re used to seeing babies in adverts who have perfectly clear skin, ‘normal’ heads, etc.  I thought the DVD was a great idea to help inexperienced people not think their baby is a freak.  The pediatrician was also great about telling us what’s in the range of normal.

Little Spark doesn’t seem to be moving as much in the past few days as he usually does.  I’m hoping it’s just because he has less space and not because something is wrong.  Some days I’m feeling really ‘full’ and uncomfortable, and it’s hard being at work those days as I really don’t have any options to get myself comfortable if just sitting at a chair at a computer isn’t going to work.  But after today that’s in my past.  Which is crazy.

I’ve still been sick; I have a horrible hacking cough that just won’t shift.  Even my dog doesn’t want to sleep on the bed with me!  My husband’s been sleeping upstairs.  So I also haven’t washed any more of Sparky’s things; his room has just been in limbo ever since I got sick.  I’m probably fine to do things – if I was worried I could just wash my hands after all! – but it’s my excuse.  All my ‘free time’ from maternity leave is fast filling up with other things I want to get done though, so best get going soon!

Speaking of other things getting done, when I had the floorboards done in May I mentioned there was more we wanted to get done around the house before Sparky came.  We’ve been waiting for our builder friend’s tiler to be available to tile our laundry.  We are also replacing the spare loo off the laundry (it has a hairline crack and slowly leaks – ew!).  Well it’s finally happening!  He was supposed to start tomorrow, but he finished his last job early and started yesterday!  When I left this morning most of the laundry was tiled and the plumber was taking out the old toilet.  Since we just had a heat pump installed too, we’re taking the ineffective wood fire heater out (the heat just went up the chimney and actually made the living room colder/draftier) and in its place putting shelves that will hold the DVD, set top box, etc.  The rest of the area will have shelves for DVDs or books.  We only discussed this with our builder friend yesterday, but he’s got people started on it today!

Work is CRAZY today trying to do some final training sessions and sort a billion things out!

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Low dose aspirin alternate days (I’m going to tell him I’m stopping it at the end of the week)
  • Ranitidine Sandoz 150mg
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 20 July: 36 weeks; last day at work!  TODAY
  • 22 July: OB appointment
  • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. 20/07/2011 at 4:50 pm

    Wow, it’s all happening on your end! I can’t believe it’s 90%. Enjoy the last month of pregnancy!

  2. 20/07/2011 at 11:37 pm

    You sound very busy! So excited about the 90%. Congrats on the home repairs, that is always super satisfying.

  3. 21/07/2011 at 7:02 am

    Not much time left! Now that you’re through with work, I hope you’ll be able to relax and finally fight off that sickness. I’m just imagining how miserable labor would be while sick!! I know you have another appointment very soon, but if you’re concerned about Sparky’s movement I hope you can checked out before then.

  4. a
    21/07/2011 at 10:48 am

    Happy Last Day of Work! 90% means you’re just about done! The main problem with ART, though, is that you know when your exact due date is. Theoretically, people can go early, but 40 weeks is the standard. So, while you might spend the next 4 weeks hoping for something to happen, you’ll probably just be spending the next 4 weeks waiting. 🙂

    Hurray for renovations!

  5. 21/07/2011 at 1:09 pm

    Here you are, with a “9” on the front of your percentage!!! Huzzah!!

    I’m with Annie … if you’re concerned, make them check Sparky. Monitoring him won’t do any harm, and it could do your spirit good. You want to go into this home stretch feeling confident and as stress-free (!!!) as possible … sending you so many good thoughts!

  6. 22/07/2011 at 5:36 pm

    And don’t forget 11 Aug – 15 Aug … The two Grannies! 😀

  7. 22/07/2011 at 7:52 pm

    hope all goes well, I’d consider getting the hacking cough closely looked at, it could be whooping cough which often presents in adults as a just a cought that won’t go away. My friend had it last winter, despite regular boosters.

  8. 23/07/2011 at 10:52 pm

    Dropping by from ICLW! I so happy to hear that everything is going well! It’s so close to your due date- congrats!

  9. Jo
    24/07/2011 at 9:47 am

    So pleased to read that you’ve almost made it. Sending lots of positive vibes for a peaceful, relaxing last month of pregnancy.

    Hugs,
    Jo

  10. 24/07/2011 at 10:09 am

    May these last couple of weeks be uneventful and may you finish all the last minute things you want to get done. Congratulations!
    (ICLW)

  11. 25/07/2011 at 2:44 am

    I am sorry you are dealing with that awful cough. I agree that it won’t hurt to ask your doctor to check on Sparky and it will give you peace of mind. I hope this last stretch of pregnancy goes well.

  12. bir
    25/07/2011 at 9:51 pm

    Popping in to drop you a comment! I’m keeping up on my iphone, but it’s darn inconvenient when it comes to saying hi! Just wanted to send you huge hugs, lots of “easy birthing” vibes, and luck and well wishes, and all of that! I’m so excited that Sparky isn’t so far away and can’t wait to hear your news!

    x

  13. 26/07/2011 at 8:00 am

    Very close! Congratulations and happy iclw!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

