Home > Uncategorized, Weekly Updates > 37: 92.5% of 40

37: 92.5% of 40

37 weeks.  3 weeks to EDD.  One week into maternity leave.  And one week into renovations that have taken over my ENTIRE house.  😦

Yes, renovations.  The laundry was being tiled and the spare loo off it being replaced.  Last Tuesday arvo my husband told our friend the builder that AT SOME POINT we’d like to take out the ineffective heaters out of the fireplaces in the living room and dining room and add some storage there. Well, they started ripping them out last Wednesday. So a lot of the downstairs furnishings and stuff was hastily tossed up into our bedroom and Sparky’s room. Everything that wasn’t is being destroyed by cement and plaster dust. I spend my days trapped in the downstairs spare room with my dog, as the builders have all the doors open. I can’t wash any of Sparky’s clothes, bedding, etc. In fact until a friend let me do a load of wash at her place I actually got to the point where I had to wear my swimming costume bottoms because I had no clean undies. Things are just way too out of control for me.

My obstetriction has finally put me on blood pressure medication at my appointment on Friday. Sunday I went into the maternity unit to have my blood pressure checked. It was down, however there was protein in my urine. This was probably because I was a bit dehydrated – I haven’t been drinking as much water at night. So I went in for more monitoring today, and both my blood pressure and urine seemed fine.

What I am taking:

  • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
  • Labetalol 100mg twice daily
  • Ranitidine Sandoz 150mg
  • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

  • 29 July: OB appointment
  • 17 August: 40 weeks

  1. 27/07/2011 at 11:08 am

    Oh no – Horrible timing on the renovations! Just when you should be nesting your poor nest is getting ripped up. I hope these projects are ones that will be done very quickly as your little Sparky may well show up any day now. So excited for you!!

  2. a
    27/07/2011 at 12:52 pm

    Ack! Renovations?!? Well, at least you’re available to supervise and keep those contractors from wasting time. Sorry to hear you’re on the blood pressure meds, but I’m impressed that you held out this long! 3 more weeks – fantastic! Is Sparky feeling crowded these days?

  3. 27/07/2011 at 12:53 pm

    Egad! Well, hopefully Sparky knows that it’s important to stay put until your stress level is down … I’m glad that your blood pressure is OK! Deep breaths … with your door closed, of course.

    *hug*

  4. lis
    27/07/2011 at 1:22 pm

    congratulations on being full term!
    xoxo
    lis

  5. 27/07/2011 at 10:14 pm

    Oh, I feel for you! This is so hard to do at 37 weeks, when you can’t bend down and clean properly. I had my bathroom redone during this pregnancy, and I am still cleaning up tile dust from everywhere. I cannot imagine going through it at this stage, when you want everything to be perfect. I feel like I need to polish the corners with a toothbrush, not deal with an entire house full of stuff and dust.

    Take it easy! there is nothing you can do about it except survive.

  6. 28/07/2011 at 1:08 am

    3 weeks! I can’t believe it…wow, how time flies! I’ll be stalking to see when the newest member arrives.

    I also have to say that you’re very brave to be doing renovations right now! I hope they get done fast and you don’t have to deal with all the chaos for too long.

  7. Natalie
    28/07/2011 at 3:06 am

    Oh No! I hope they finish up soon. That little sparky could come any time now, and they are tearing up your house??? Renovations are hard when you are not pregnant. Good luck, hopefully they will be over soon and you will still have a little bit of time to get things back in order before the little guys arrival. Glad you are doing well physically though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

