Home > Weekly Updates > 38: 95% of 40

38: 95% of 40

38 weeks.  2 weeks to EDD.  Two weeks into maternity leave.  And two weeks into renovations that have taken over my ENTIRE house.  😦

Yes, they’re still going on – but I’ve given an ultimatun that whatever hasn’t been done by Friday won’t be done – at least not for a few months.  This has just been SO annoying – it’s taking longer than when we had the bathroom completely redone and is more disruptive!  I can’t settle Sparky’s room and can’t even get my computer out because of all the dust.  I’m so out of touch with you all – I haven’t read anyone’s blog since I started maternity leave!!!  I’m just poking out this post on my phone – for some reason the email address connected with this blog has stopped downloading to my phone, so I can’t even respond or catch up with people that way.  But just 2 1/2 more days of this.  Sigh.

My obstetrician thinks my blood pressure is doing just fine now on the dosage of meds he put me on.  He still says he won’t let me go over my due date, so we’ll see what he says Friday!  Now each appointment I go to I wonder if he’s going to induce me.  Part of me hopes he will say those words and part of me wants to actually have time to get my house in order and maybe get some sleep!  (You don’t get to sleep in when tradies arrive at your door at 7:30 am.)  Oh, and the medication he gave me for reflux is magical.

Aside from desperately needing some sleep, I’m doing fine physically.  I don’t recognise my boobs as mine; I swear they’re more pigmented every morning.  I thought my bump was supposed to slow down growing, but some days my husband comes home from work and tells me he’s certain it’s bigger – and sadly I think he’s right.  Being an IVF person means my bump has some unique qualities: rather than getting stretch marks I seem to be getting a big red dot in every place I’ve ever injected myself, and rather than my belly button emerging you can see more and more of the laproscopy scar that was hidden in my belly button every day.  In the shower when it’s time to rinse I need to take the shower head off to rinse my ‘undercarriage’ or it doesn’t get enough water.  I try not to waddle.  My face and arms etc seem to be bloaty looking, which makes me feel like I just look fat.  But these are statements of facts, not complaints.  I can even love looking bloated, because my ob says it’s normal.  I don’t care what pain or discomfort I experience as long as it’s still normal!

I can’t believe I’ve made it to 38 weeks.  I can’t believe it’s August, and I will meet Sparky this month.  Most of all, I find it hard to get my head around the idea that some day soon there might be a baby in my life.  As much as I love feeling his wiggles and hiccups and now truly enjoy having him inside, I can’t imagine what he’ll be like after he’s born.  I can’t believe this might happen.

I’ve been asked a lot if I’m scared of the birth, and strangely I’m not at all.  Maybe it’s partly denial that it is something I will actually be doing, but it’s also because after what I’ve been through it’s just one event – one day.  It’s not the continual pain of infertility or loss; they are still with me and hurt more.  I’ve been through birth already, alone and scared and so angry and upset that no one would believe what was happening.  So this time with support and happening at the proper time, how can I complain?  I don’t imagine it won’t be painful – but having the chance that this boy will live rather than knowing that it was so early he would die is a big difference.  In my mind at this distance it makes whatever I’ll go through more bearable, if you just please let him live.  Really, I’ll do anything – just let Sparky live!

What I am taking:

    • Blackmores Pregnancy & Breast-Feeding Gold 2 x daily
    • Labetalol 100mg twice daily
    • Ranitidine Sandoz 150mg
    • Vitamin D

Upcoming milestones:

    • 5 August: OB appointment and LAST day of renovations
    • 11-15 August: 2 of my bestest friends are visiting from South Australia!
    • 17 August: 40 weeks
Categories: Weekly Updates
  1. a
    03/08/2011 at 11:41 am

    Sparky’s got a lot of birthdays to avoid this month – half my family and friends seem to have been born in August!

    Good luck – I hope everything is done by Friday!

  2. 03/08/2011 at 12:22 pm

    I am doing a little dance to the fact that you are 2 weeks away! Having seen that % steadily grow I am so damn excited!! I can’t wait to meet little Sparky. xx

  3. 03/08/2011 at 6:23 pm

    I think your attitude towards labour is great, and I agree with you, I mean I would prefer labour to the C/s with its lengthy healing time, but heck, nothing nothing NOTHING/ compares to what we have been through to get here.

  4. Jess
    03/08/2011 at 11:15 pm

    Almost there, so happy for you! Renovations always go over their allotted time.

  5. sooz
    04/08/2011 at 1:07 am

    You’re in the final stretch! Yay! Can’t wait to “meet” (i.e., read about) the little one.

  6. 04/08/2011 at 11:26 am

    You’ve definitely got the right mind-set about the delivery. As much as it might hurt, it can’t compare to the hurt you’ve suffered already. Plus, I can only imagine that knowing it’s the right time for Sparky to come out will make the whole process so much less scary and easier to cope with.

    Only one more day of renovations – yay! I hope you get to take next week to get the house in order before your little man makes his big arrival.

  7. 04/08/2011 at 12:27 pm

    Cheering you on … and good for you, putting your foot down about the renovations. You don’t need added stress right now … perhaps they will feel motivated by the wrath of the pregnant lady, and move quickly on the things you want done most! Sparky, get ready … there’s a world waiting to meet you!

  8. 04/08/2011 at 12:42 pm

    Not long now dear! I’m so looking forward to meeting Sparky and I’m glad I’ve been a part of your journey.

  9. Sienna
    06/08/2011 at 5:51 am

    You are almost there! I hope you can get your house in order as much as possible before sparky gets here.and pls somehow get some sleep, bc it will be in very short supply after bebe! As for labor, that was the easiest part in my opinion. Getting pregnant and the actul preen an ya ere a lot tougher to me than labor. Recoverywas tough, but that’s bc I ripped, so hopefully you will bounce back quickly. Sending all my best vibes over to you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

