Home > Ovum Donor Pregnancy > You Want a Piece of Me?!

You Want a Piece of Me?!

Doesn’t everyone.  Sigh.

Even more than I did pre-Sparky, I feel pulled in a million directions.  My dog Lottie wants my love and attention.  My husband wants love and affection (good luck getting the physical kind!  :-P).  My friends want emails.  Eskil’s grandparents want photos.  My garden wants to not be choked with weeds and perhaps get some water now and then.  But because the most important person not just wants me but needs me, Eskil comes first.

And some people aren’t coping well with that.

But there’s another important person I need to take care of: me.  Because I’ve realised that taking care of me is taking care of Eskil.  I need to keep my sanity, whether it’s by blogging so I can sort out my thoughts, having a shower to relax, or having half an hour while I’m pumping to have my own head space.

I’m finite. Don’t try to spread me too thin.

Categories: Ovum Donor Pregnancy
  1. a
    15/11/2011 at 1:47 pm

    I’m pretty sure that’s the secret of motherhood that no one shares with you – or maybe we just don’t believe it when we hear it. Your time is never your own again. Either the boy needs you, and when he doesn’t, the husband expects you to make up for all the time he’s not been getting lately, and the dog is always underfoot, because she’s been the main focus for so long, and now the grandparents and aunts and uncles and friends want to visit or at least get regular pictures, and oh, there’s that baby book, and what are we having for dinner, and did I pay the bills and pick up the mail, until you’re just about ready to explode!

    But somehow you make it all happen anyway…

  2. 15/11/2011 at 3:43 pm

    Good for you for realising it early, and for having your priorities straight. You are so right, taking care of you is in Eskil’s best (and surely hubby’s best) interest. Everyone else important will get over it eventually if they don’t get as much of you as they think they need. Also – photos in your previous post – beautiful! I still haven’t given up on the idea of swooping down and stealing that gorgeous little man from you. ❤

  3. 16/11/2011 at 2:14 am

    You are SO right …. taking care of yourself is an important priority! Like in those airplane safety demos … put your own mask on first. 🙂 The other thing I’ve found is that if you don’t set expectations too high, they don’t get higher. 😉

    • 16/11/2011 at 2:14 am

      And I meant to say … what BEAUTIFUL baby!!

  4. 18/11/2011 at 6:59 pm

    hehe, you have reached the Garden of Wisdom.
    Come shovel snow for me and I will gladly weed and water your garden in exchange. The grass is always greener than the snow I guess.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

