Home > Uncategorized > Still Pumping

Still Pumping

Before I had my son, I just assumed I’d breastfeed him.  I had heard it wasn’t easy, especially at the start, but I’d done a lot of things that weren’t easy just to have him so I wasn’t phased.  I didn’t know it might just not happen at all.

So I’m still pumping.  My boy will be 7 months on Tuesday.  He has never had formula. (Not that I have anything against mums who choose that; I’m just proud I haven’t had to!). I’ve started introducing solids – iron fortified rice cereal, veggies from my garden that I steam, blend, and pass through a sieve.

You’d kinda think that with all this pumping I’d look at solids as a welcome beginning-of-the-end.  But maybe I’m just in the swing of pumping or maybe I’m just not coping with the idea of my son growing up, but I find myself forgetting to feed him his mashes.  I’m just so used to giving him a bottle of breastmilk.

But alone with my dog, in the middle of the night, when I’ve been up pumping for 1 1/2 hours and I still am not empty, I can see that a future when I don’t do this might be nice.

4:53 am.  Still pumping.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Still A Guest Room
    02/03/2012 at 5:50 am

    You are a superstar!!!

  2. 02/03/2012 at 6:12 am

    Having had to give my son the bottle a few times, I was tempted by how fast it was. Minutes – and we are done! But no, I want to give him breastmilk exclusively. I totally understand you – and admire your perseverance!!!

  3. a
    02/03/2012 at 6:12 am

    There is nothing better than giving up the pump. You find yourself with so much more free time. In a few more months, when he’s eating food more than drinking breastmilk, you can start contemplating that freedom!

  4. 02/03/2012 at 6:22 am

    I am so impressed with your perseverance with the pump! I think not many people would stick it out as long as you have. An hour and a half and still going? Urg.

  5. 02/03/2012 at 12:27 pm

    You are superwoman! I’m in awe of what you have accomplished. And it’s funny … as we’re weaning N, I’ve felt similarly … that on the one hand, I’m sorry that this part is over, but on the other, I’m feeling sort of glad to be free!

  6. 04/03/2012 at 10:19 am

    You go, girl! Wow – that is quite an accomplishment, and if you are still getting such an amazing supply, that’s awesome.

    So glad to hear things are well!

  7. 08/03/2012 at 5:22 pm

    Holy cow, that’s a lot of milk! when I pump, it’s over in five minutes. I only get an ounce each breast if I am lucky…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

