Home > Uncategorized > Just Three Times Per Night

Just Three Times Per Night

I know I could easily become obsessed, so I have limited myself: I only check my son is breathing three times per night.  I know normal mums wouldn’t think of sleeping as a ridiculously hazardous activity, but having lost one perfectly healthy pregnancy that I was told there was no chance of miscarriage I cannot help it.

I would have preferred to have our bub in our bedroom, but my husband insisted he sleep in his own cot from the time we came home from hospital.  I loathed it at the time and considered sleeping on his bedroom floor, however it did work out.  He is a settled bub at night and has slept through since he was seven weeks old.

But I allow myself to check on him three times per night.  Once when I go to bed, once when I wake up to pump, and finally when I go back to bed after pumping.  I crack open his door, tiptoe in so I lean over his cot, and listen for the sound of his breathing.  I have to be careful of my dog following me in and having a noisy scratch.  If I have checked the temperature on the baby monitor before I might make adjustments to windows, heating, or bedding.  But it is more the reward of the sound of his breathing I am after.

I know I’ll have to stop this sometime between now and when he turns 18, but I’m a long way from that.  Today it is about my reward for my persistence, those little breaths three times per might.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jen
    15/03/2012 at 10:58 am

    Oh! You are entitled to the breath checking…we still do it sometimes. 🙂

  2. 15/03/2012 at 2:06 pm

    Once you stop doing it with worry, you can do it in awe. 🙂

  3. 15/03/2012 at 4:43 pm

    maybe you do it to feel the happiness of seeing him alive and well. I know I do…

  4. 16/03/2012 at 8:38 am

    I do that, too
    I sleep in my baby’s room, we left the double bed that used to be in this room (It used to be a guest room), so at night he sleeps next to me in the moses basket. We let my hubby sleep separately so that he’s capable of going to work and earning money 😉

    so I check on his breathing, too – leaning over the edge of the basket 😉

  5. 16/03/2012 at 11:47 am

    I like this post. It feels normal to me! Hope you are well…

  6. 22/03/2012 at 1:15 pm

    I always pop in to check on my son just before I go to bed too (usually about 2 hours after he does). I tuck him up nice and tight in his blankies, smooth his hair, kiss his forehead and generally get distracted and just stare at him for a good 5 minutes while resting my hand gently on his chest to feel his breathing going up and down.

  7. 23/03/2012 at 8:36 pm

    Slept through since seven weeks old, yet you still wake up to pump! That’s dedication. The second that H started sleeping through at seven months, I took full advantage of the chance to get eight hours of straight sleep.

    I had a breathing monitor set up for the first six months, and I would watch that swinging pendulum with such intensity if he went for more than three hours without waking. Now he moves around so much that he sets off false alarms throughout the night, so I’m having to learn to trust that he is okay…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

