Home > Uncategorized > When To Stop?

When To Stop?

I am stubborn.  I never know when to stop.  I think without this I would never have persevered and become a mum.  And certainly without this I never would have become the breastmilk pumping freak that I now am.  But when should I stop pumping?

The arguments for stopping soon:

  • I will start work in mid/late July (as long as I have a job still – a different story!).  Pumping already steals my time away from my boy, and when I am working and he is in day care I will have so few waking hours with him that I don’t want to waste them connected to a machine.
  • I will be seeing my FS 15 August to start discussing transferring our last embryo in November.  Not only will I probably need to stop pumping before I go on any drugs for that, but I haven’t had my period since before my last embryo transfer in November 2010.  (If only I could keep it away forever!)
  • I have done a great job pumping and haven’t had to give my boy formula, but he is on solids now (more about this in another post!) and is getting close to when I could switch him to other milks instead of formula I think.  I’ll discuss this more with the child health nurse when I see her 1 June.
  • Food isn’t all there is to parenting, and I should give myself time for the other things.  So often I wish I had more time to play and read and massage and chat with my boy, and pumping makes it hard to fit all this into our day even when he is my full-time job.
  • I loath pumping with a passion only surpassed by my love for my boy.

The arguments for not stopping this decade:

  • Stubbornness.
  • I don’t know how to stop.
  • Stubbornness.
  • I’ll miss knowing I am giving him breastmilk.
  • Stubbornness.
  • He still has 700 – 900 ml a day of it!  He has been drinking the same amount, but increasing the amount of solids he has.  My boy still wants breastmilk, and I like to give him what he wants.
  • Stubbornness.

I think I can see where this is headed.  😦  I’ll see what the child health nurse has to say on 1 June.  Maybe my goal should be to get him to his first birthday, 6 August, but stop after that.  It would still mean pumping for a few weeks after I start work though.  Hmm.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 16/05/2012 at 12:24 pm

    I hear you, I’ve been having a similar stubborn back and forth with myself! Ian turns one in June and I’m thinking I’ll continue nursing until around the end of the summer and slowly start weaning then, we’ll see though…such a hard decision!

    • 16/05/2012 at 12:33 pm

      I really don’t want to stop. But it really looks like it is the smart thing to do. 😦

      At guess then I can devote more time to my wholefood for baby obsession.

  2. a
    16/05/2012 at 12:37 pm

    Pumping at work is annoying, but doable. Much luck with your imminent decision…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

