Home > Uncategorized > Pump, Pump

Pump, Pump

I have decided that I’ll stop pumping by the time I go back to work, in theory on 23 July.  I still feel strange about it, but my brain knows it is the right decision.  My little boy will be just 2 weeks shy of turning 1, so the child health nurse says he’ll be fine going to calcium enriched soy milk instead of formula.  I’ll transition from one to the other rather than just switching, of course, and I have a bit of a stash to do it with.  I have no idea how much I have in the freezer st the moment, but I’be actually put a litre away o er the past two days!  I definitely have over 2 litres, perhaps over 3?

The boy’s nap is over…so that is all for now.  It will be so sad to not have him setting the rhythm of my day when I go back to paid work.  😦

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. cw
    05/06/2012 at 3:58 pm

    I can’t believe he is nearly one. Wow. What a year!!

    • 05/06/2012 at 4:37 pm

      It’s CRAZY! He’s only 10 months, but I know these next 2 months are going to go by insanely quickly. 😦

  2. 05/06/2012 at 7:03 pm

    Please forgive me I feel the need to give some assvice which you certainly didn’t ask for. It seems you are getting good advice anyway so please feel free to tell me to shut up.

    First off, I have to tell you how amazed I am by you having kept going with pumping all this time. Tue dedication and such an inspiration to me.

    When you stop expressing I would recommend weaning yourself off. If you can do that you will not need to take any drugs to dry up your supply. I started by dropping from expressing 6 times a day to five then four etc etc. It is a natural approach as would happen if you simply weaned him off the breast. When I stopped completely I did have some engorgement and leaking for a few days, but really not bad at all. This way you could actually keep expressing once a day once you are back at work which would stock up your supply while making the switch over to other milk.

    Just a question, but why soya milk rather than cows milk? From 1 year they can tolerate cows milk and it is in fact less likely to cause allergy than soya. Also as I understand it and I could stand to be corrected, cows milk provides more immunity building than soya.

    As for your stash, 3 litres will be amazing. I still have a few breast milks in the freezer (over a month after stopping expressing), I have a notion in my head that I will give it to them if they get sick??? Maybe I just can’t let go of giving my babes breastmilk???

    As I said I don’t want to question your decisions or tell you what to do, this is just my opinion.

  3. 06/06/2012 at 12:04 am

    almost a year already, wow…
    as to your stash – how much milk does he drink in a day, do you know? I mean, my baby is still EBF, and he eats well over 1 liter a day, but I guess once they start eating other foods, they drink less milk? Try to make an estimate – for how long the supply will last, so that you can plan the transition better

  4. a
    06/06/2012 at 12:28 pm

    Wow! I don’t think I put away a liter the whole time I was pumping at work! It’s a good plan – pumping at work is even less fun than pumping at home. I, too, am wondering why soy milk rather than cow’s… Maybe an idea for the next naptime post? 🙂

  5. 06/06/2012 at 4:02 pm

    That’s a hard transition to make. (((Hugs)))

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

