Home > Uncategorized > Still Pumping

Still Pumping

Well I’m back at work, but I haven’t stopped pumping yet.  This was partly due to indecisiveness, partly due to us having a cold we can’t shake for over a month, and partly to due with my emotional reaction to no longer providing breast milk for my boy.

The indecisiveness had to do with what I would change him to after breast milk.  Because of the asthma issues of his half siblings, I was convinced we wouldn’t change to cow milk and thought soy was the answer.  JD sounded some warning bells going in my head though, and I looked into it further and definitely won’t be changing to soy.  So I was left seeing if I could get a reliable supply of goat or sheep.  I can’t – not even from producers at the farmers’ market.  Sigh.  So I’ve started added a small amount of cow to his EBM bottles.  I’m seeing his paediatrician next month and will ask him questions, but for now it’s what I’m doing.

So I should be actively reducing how much I pump ever so gently with a view to shutting down the dairy, which I am sort of doing.  I’m not making as much as I used to – but I’m still making more than my son needs and have put more away in my freezer stash.  I’m taking a breast pump to work and pumping in an empty office once during the work day.  Which I hate, but apparently not more than I hate the idea of stopping.

I’ll get to a place where my boobs and my brain are ready to stop.  One day.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. a
    27/07/2012 at 1:30 pm

    Ugh. I hated pumping, but you don’t have much choice, do you?

  2. 28/07/2012 at 12:03 am

    You’re such a great, devoted, and determined mom!
    Kudos to you 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

