Home > Ovum Donor FET > Back to the Clinic

Back to the Clinic

Yesterday was our appointment to discuss having our remaining embryo transferred.  It was ok.  I kept myself really busy before and after in an attempt to shut my brain down (as if that would work).

I was worried the waiting room might be full of IVFers who wouldn’t be to happy seeing my boy, so had him in my Ergo pouch as I thought it would be less disruptive than a pram.  However we were the only ones there.  The nurses were all so lovely and ooohhhed and aaahhhed over Sparky. It’s bittersweet: they are lovely, but when the IVF clinic staff all know you so well and you can tell them changes from before they were employed there, you have done IVF too long!

After a while of catching up with the staff, we went in to see the FS.  He updated my file in his software so I wasn’t 90+ weeks pregnant.  Our remaining embryo is a grade 4, so not as bad as I thought.  (My clinic grades 1 to 5, with 5 being the best.) So I just gave to phone when we’re ready to do an FET. I am still breastfeeding and still haven’t had AF, so I guess I should really wean.  The FS wants to do the FET in a natural cycle.

If our embryo doesn’t work, there is a possibility our ovum donor might want to donate to us again. But we might have other options too so will have to think about it. But hopefully our remaining embryo works and we don’t have to worry about it!  I don’t feel all that positive that it is a possibility.

I really want this embryo to work.  To get totally and completely ahead of myself, if it didn’t and we went down the path of another cycle with our donor, what if an embryo worked from the fresh cycle and we had some frozen?  I never dreamed or imagined having more than two children at the most.  But as donor recipients we cannot donate our embryos, and I hate the idea of letting them ‘succumb’.  We might have a chance at donated embryos from a known donor, but then would it be strange for Sparky not to know his ovum donor but another sibling to know the couple who donated his/her embryo?
But I’m getting way ahead of myself.  First things first: wean.  Start having normal cycles again.  Maybe think about making some changes in my life to improve my health and therefore improve this embryo’s chances.  And breath.

Categories: Ovum Donor FET
  1. a
    16/08/2012 at 12:16 pm

    One thought of possible future leads to multiple thoughts of possible futures – it’s hard not to go down that road. Much luck!

  2. 16/08/2012 at 12:26 pm

    So hard to not think about all the possibilities, we’ve been there too! We’re also starting to work on weaning…SO hard! Little man is very into comfort nursing so just getting us down to 4 nursing sessions a day this week has been very difficult.
    Thinking of you guys and wishing you well for this FET, grade 4 is wonderful! Hoping this one works out so you don’t have to worry about all the other possibilities!

    • 16/08/2012 at 2:48 pm

      The pathetic thing for me is I’m exclusively pumping, so it’s not that it is hard keeping Sparky off the boob, it’s just that it is hard for me to accept the idea of it!

  3. 16/08/2012 at 5:09 pm

    Grade 4 is awesome! It’s a good idea to take things one step at a time. Easier said than done, I know…

  4. 16/08/2012 at 6:49 pm

    Grade 4 sounds fantastic and certainly good enough to put some hope into. Good luck with getting your head around weaning, I think for us that expressed it is easier because no baby attached to the nursing, but also a lot harder because it sometimes feels like we had to go through so much to keep that milk production there that it is psychologically hard to let it go. Sending you lots of love and hugs as you start gearing up.

  5. 16/08/2012 at 7:09 pm

    Oh wow. I just can’t comprehend going back to that world of hopefullys and maybes. You are very brave! I really hope this one works for you though. It would be a beautiful almost coming around full-circle if this little embryo turned into E’s little sibling. I’m with you on leftover frosties. Originally (when we though we’d have spares – silly us!) I assumed I’d donate to science but now that we’ve been through it all there’s not a chance. You’ve done such a phenomenal job with pumping, and it’s understandable that you aren’t comfortable with weaning, what a shame it’s necessary to get things moving.

  6. MKW
    17/08/2012 at 6:37 am

    Well first I’m glad the appointment went well even if it was a bit stressful and awkward. I think we’d all be kidding ourselves in hoping for stress free FS interactions. Weaning must be a hard thought. I can’t imagine that at this point since I don’t know the bond it brings but I feel for you and the disappointment it sounds like weaning brings. Hopefully your g4 is the next perfect embryo and you don’t have to worry too much about the other stuff, but I’m glad the options are there for you and hubby!

  7. 19/08/2012 at 12:14 pm

    Yay for going back to the clinic! That must have been a challenging moment to make the decision to get back… congrats to you! I am very hopeful and positive that the transfer will go well for you. I’ll be sending you positive thoughts as you start to wean!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

