Home > Uncategorized > Not Working for Me

Not Working for Me

I think that title sounds negative, but I think this is a positive post.  We’ll see if I can think of a better title before hitting ‘Publish’. . .

Work isn’t working for me.  I spent a long time on this road; so long I never thought I would arrive at my destination, i.e. having a healthy, living child.  But I am here.  (Knock wood.)  I think a lot of people spend their pregnancy changing their mindset.  Moving from someone who is not a mother to someone who is.  I wasted my pregnancy being terrified of having another dead baby.  My powers of disbelief were strong enough to resist a tear in the perineum and a bub in my arms.  I spent my maternity leave in a cloud of wondering disbelief, although I honestly think it made me not take one moment of that time for granted.  It was so precious.

But now I am back at work.  Full-time.  The love of my life is at day care – with people who are not his mummy.  And although I love my career, I do not my job at present.  We are getting shuffled around and shafted; I’m not doing what I am paid to do.  Plus my priorities are shifting; my brain is finally catching up to being mummy.

In amongst these thoughts, I’m being thrown a lifeline by my husband.  I don’t know how much to discuss here, but we’re putting a plan into action to have little or no mortgage, so if I can work it out with my workplace I can be part time and home more with my boy.  I’m very excited – and a bit scared.  It might sound strange, but it feels odd to finally be making changes to my working life centred around my boy.  I have a career I built up myself – a career I love.  But I do not love it as much as my little pumpkin man.
High 5!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Meg
    30/08/2012 at 1:18 pm

    I hear you! I also spent a long time building up my career and now I have a little one, I just don’t care for my career too much any more. I’m very glad that we are (so far) in a position that I can work part-time three days a week, but I would gladly give away my career in a heartbeat if I could spend all my days with my girl. I hope your plan comes to fruition very quickly so you can get back to being a mummy for more of your time. I’m very excited for you! xx

  2. Jen
    30/08/2012 at 1:59 pm

    After abandoning my career, I have felt some pangs of longing to jump back in. However, my E wins. So I hear ya. It so exciting that you might be moving in this direction! Love the picture! He’s adorable!!!!

  3. 30/08/2012 at 8:26 pm

    I hear you. I also have a career I spent my whole life building and studying for and working so very hard to be successful at. But since the arrival of the Hope Babes it seems like nothing, it seems so unimportant and no where near the priority that my babes are. I am fortunate enough to only work part-time and it is all worth while. I really hope this can become your reality too.

    And btw he is gorgeous, a really stunning little boy. Don’t think I’ll allow him near my girl, he looks set to be a heart breaker.

  4. stillaguestroom
    31/08/2012 at 3:32 am

    It’s crazy how things change once baby arrives. Good for you for coming up with a plan to give yourself flexibility!

  5. 31/08/2012 at 12:17 pm

    This is SUCH a tough choice … for so many reasons! Your boy is absolutely beautiful, though … and it’s OK that he pulls on your heart strings now, too. I wish I could do part time … that would help with balance for me. I hope it works out for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

