Home > Uncategorized > Changes

Changes

I’ve avoided writing this post a bit because I don’t want to write these words: I’ve stopped pumping.

I love not pumping.  I hated being connected to a machine.  I hated that there were times my son wanted me to do things with him, but I was busy milking myself.  But as a last physical link with him – me being able to so directly provide him with what he needs – it’s been a bit upsetting to stop.  I pumped for the last time on the 8th of September.  That was over a week ago, and I still have milk stashed in the freezer.  He gets it mixed with cow milk and seems completely fine with that.  His father even gives him all cow at times, and he’s still fine with it.  Sigh.

And other big changes are afoot.  We live in my husband’s house – a house he bought with his ex-wife and raised his first children in alone when she left him.  I have done a lot to it over the last 9 years, but it has never been mine.  So we are finally moving.  We’ve actually already signed a contract on our next house.  I love it.  I love the area, I love the living spaces, I love the period details, I love the kitchen.  And I love that it will be the house I raise Sparky in.  It is walking distance to cafes, shops, walking tracks, the bush, parks, what will one day be Sparky’s school, and the CBD.  We took less time to decide we’d put an offer in on this house than I take to decide what to order off a menu.  We have lots of work ahead to sell up, but not much work to do once we’re in the new house.

Changes – good and not as good.  But changes.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 17/09/2012 at 11:55 am

    Congratulations on the new house, it sounds fantastic! Lots of love to you guys! Congrats on making it so long pumping as well, that is a huge accomplishment! We also stopped nursing about two weeks ago. Hope the move goes smoothly.

  2. 17/09/2012 at 12:04 pm

    You should be so proud that you were able to provide him with Mama’s milk for so long. I am sure it was really hard to stop but at least he is doing just fine! 🙂 Changes like that one are so tough. Very exciting about the new house. So nice that you can now start in YOUR own home with your husband and your family. Many great memories to come there!!

  3. a
    17/09/2012 at 1:53 pm

    A new house, and no pumping? That’s quite a lot of change! I like change…

  4. 17/09/2012 at 4:41 pm

    I am so excited for the new house! Squee!!

  5. 18/09/2012 at 2:55 am

    congrats on buying a house – how exciting! What’s “a bush” that is in a walking distance?

    I hear you on severing the last connection. I felt the same way by simply introducing solids (I am still nursing, but somehow it felt like the beginning of an end…). He still is attached to you by much stronger bond, though – and will be, forever! 🙂

  6. 18/09/2012 at 11:01 am

    Not ‘a bush’, but ‘the bush’. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_bush 🙂 And I felt a smaller version of this when I introduced solids too. But I’m still the one making all his food – and kissing his feet!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

