Home > Uncategorized > Heros

Heros

I spent my son’s naptime making capes for my son and his bestest friend, Monkey George.

He earned it long ago just by being himself, but today Monkey George receives his super hero cape.

A couple months ago – in the middle of his bath – my son stood up, asked me to put the washer on his back, and with his hands on his hips declared himself SUUUPPER!  The first thing that came to my head was how much, for me, he is my hero.  He’s ‘The Boy Who Lived’ (it always chokes me up to read or hear that).  He saved me in so many ways.  To be honest, I don’t know that I’d still be here without him.  After Blobby died I’d planned how I could die too, and as the failures continued to come often revisited the plan.  He saved me.

As I was making the super capes this afternoon, I also thought about how you never know when you’ve become someone’s hero.  There are bloggers who spoke to me – touched me – often at a point where I was too weak to comment.  There have been people who smile or give support just at the right moment, even though for them it might have been a passing thing.  There’s Monkey George, whose hugs give my son comfort if he trips over.  There’s my hero, Al Yankovic.

We can be heroes – just for one day.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. a
    23/08/2014 at 5:18 am

    I love Monkey George! And I bet Super Sparky and he make an excellent superhero duo!

    Good to hear from you…

  2. 23/08/2014 at 8:14 am

    Hello!!!!! I’m so glad to see a post from you ❤️

  3. 23/08/2014 at 3:27 pm

    Was thinking along the same lines myself as my Anastasia just turned 3…if I’d lost her would I still be here? Glad to see a post from you. You went through so much to get Sparky here – you are his hero!

  4. 26/08/2014 at 12:50 am

    I feel the same way about my children, but particularly am amazed that my son implanted, given that he was such a scrawny grade C embryo and my uterus was a mess. The children who were meant to live…and boy, am I happy about it!

  5. 26/08/2014 at 8:34 pm

    Gorgeous post, long time no hear my friend. And let me promise you this, you are his hero too!

  6. 27/08/2014 at 5:16 am

    So sweet, loved this post!! Its so true! Love that you’re making capes for monkey too, you’re such an amazing Momma!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

