Home > MicroBlogMonday > Sharps

Sharps

Sigh. Cleaning out a cupboard, I found a sharps container stowed way in the back, obviously from a time when even dealing with the leftovers from my last cycle was too much. I can either take them to a chemist, in which case I’ll feel awkward and no doubt talk too much, or I can take it back to the IVF unit. I’ll probably take it back to the IVF unit, as strange as that will feel, but – still awkward. There’s been a lot of change there, which will probably make me feel that much more left behind – like the journey really, really is over.

If you’d like to join #MigroblogMonday, visit http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2015/02/microblogmondays-23-superpower/.

Categories: MicroBlogMonday
  1. 02/02/2015 at 11:54 pm

    I am so sorry that you came across this relic. So much pain wrapped up in those stupid red sharps containers. We are enlisting a friend to get rid of ours, as my old clinic will accept them but our new clinic wouldn’t (and it’s over an hour away, not worth it), but first we have to find them all. I am sorry for the wound the plastic box of needles has opened up fresh, I hope you can find an easy way to dispose of them, and I wish you peace.

  2. 03/02/2015 at 12:18 am

    Ah, yes. I think I ended up with a couple of those, hiding in the corner. If only there were secure rubbish bins in the corner of the chemist for those.

  3. 03/02/2015 at 2:01 am

    It takes a long time to work through the end of a infertility journey. Even if we end up as parents. ((hugs))

  4. Gil
    03/02/2015 at 2:02 am

    Welcome to Microblog Mondays. I just wanted to say *hugs* for the emotions that I’m sure that sharps container brought right back to the forefront. It’s never easy. I still have one tucked in my cupboard too… 6 years later. The feelings never really go away, do they? Thinking of you.

    • 03/02/2015 at 11:47 am

      As twisted as it is, I find it reassuring that it’s not just me and there are others out there with sharps containers in the back of their cupboards! I’m sorry that it means you can relate to my feelings, and ((HUGS)) back to you.

  5. Mel
    03/02/2015 at 10:50 am

    Sending a hug. I also have a sharps container and I STILL haven’t done anything about it. It’s embarrassing. It’s been 10 years.

    • 03/02/2015 at 11:46 am

      You may find it embarassing, but I actually feel like crying from relief. It’s not just me!

  6. 03/02/2015 at 11:02 am

    Hugs.

  7. justinelevine
    03/02/2015 at 2:45 pm

    Sending a hug … and a hope that a friend will help with the disposal, and treat you to a cup of tea afterward.

  8. a
    06/02/2015 at 7:22 am

    I have a collection of stuff in the back of my closet – you never know when you’ll need a syringe (I use mine for refilling ink cartridges in my fountain pen). Fortunately, as far as other remnants go, I have a job where I can just bring my biohazard sharps in and put them into the nearest container for disposal without having to discuss it with anyone.

  9. 07/02/2015 at 3:21 am

    It took me a while to take my sharps box back as well. The decision to get rid of it was very emotional for me. I had 2 boxes and the local drugstore took one, but not the second one because the 2nd container was not “secure”. So they gave me another container to empty the syringes in. On another day I returned the container at my local grocery store pharmacy (the same chain where I had spent $1500 on fertility drugs) but the woman there wanted me to return to the drugstore where I had received the container. She kind of made me feel like a drug addict.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

