Home > MicroBlogMonday > Maintenance

Maintenance

I have several drafts almost ready to go, but all that’s on my mind is my aching back and painful hip. We had a long weekend, and we’re such ravers that we spent it first cleaning back then resealing our deck. Party on.

Maintenance isn’t always pleasant. My son hates me making him brush his teeth; my dog hates being given a bath. However as unpleasant as the experience is, they know it’s a form a caring and done out of love. I’m the only one who has given my dog medication – an experience she hates – but she loves me most of all. I’ve had to force medication down my son’s throat with my husband holding his arms, but he knows we love him most of all and are often told ‘you’re my best friend’.

Maintenance. It’s not always pleasant, but it shows you care.

This is a MicroBlogMonday post. If you’d like to know more or visit more posts, go to http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2015/02/microblog-mondays-24-quidditch/

Categories: MicroBlogMonday
  1. 09/02/2015 at 10:21 pm

    I love this. It’s very true. And you’ve reminded me, we need to re-oil our deck soon too.

  2. 09/02/2015 at 10:57 pm

    They always know that we love them. 🙂 And yeah, maintenance is never pleasant.

  3. 10/02/2015 at 1:33 am

    You are absolutely right. Maintenance is hard but yields great results in the end.

    Here is my entry to today’s microblog – https://happinessandfood.wordpress.com/2015/02/09/microblogmondays-recognition-is-happiness/

  4. 10/02/2015 at 3:00 am

    Very well said. It’s hard to do maintenance but it is necessary. How old is your son? My two year old hated brushing her teeth until we found her Tom’s Toothpaste. Now we have to say “We don’t brush your teeth more than 3 times a day.”

  5. 10/02/2015 at 11:02 am

    Very true. Love lives most in the small everyday gestures.

  6. Mel
    10/02/2015 at 12:23 pm

    So very true. I think I’m going to show this to the twins tomorrow when they complain about their new vitamin. Remind them that it’s a form of love.

  7. a
    11/02/2015 at 4:40 am

    Not always pleasant, but always necessary. I just hope that others see the love that’s present in the ordinary maintenance…

  8. 11/02/2015 at 1:11 pm

    Good point–maintenance isn’t fun, but it’s necessary and done out of love! Love this post.

  9. 11/02/2015 at 9:51 pm

    So very true! Our old boy cat thinks nail maintenance entitles him to a treat…the girl just runs away for me. lol And I so wish my car would understand how much I like it and require less maintenance. Teethbrushing for our boy…that’s another story. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

