Home > MicroBlogMonday > NO COMMENT!!!!

NO COMMENT!!!!

I’m in a bit of a rage. I know how spam comments are awful and time consuming to wade through – and my other site was viciously hacked and the comments were somehow a backdoor? – however blogging software makes it almost impossible to comment these days.

Part of trying to be more present here is wanting to be more present in the community as well, i.e. reading and commenting on others’ posts. I love it. I love getting to know other bloggers. I love reading a post and nodding my head because she or he has used the perfect words for thoughts I’ve had; I love reading a post and thinking ‘huh – really?’ because it’s about something I’ve not experienced. There are so many people I need to catch up on and so many new people to meet, and I feel voiceless. I can comment on a few other blogs, but the majority lead me into a loop of frustration. And, yeah, I work in IT – so you’d think I of all people could figure it out.

Long story short: I’m sorry. I’ve visited anyone’s page who has commented here and most of the posts by other MicroBlog Monday posters. However I’ve only successfully commented on a few pages. I’m sorry; I’ve tried. I’ll keep trying.

This post is inspired from Mel’s Microblog Monday; visit her and see who else is participating! http://www.stirrup-queens.com/2015/02/microblogmondays-25-whats-that-smell/

Categories: MicroBlogMonday
  1. Jen
    16/02/2015 at 9:55 pm

    So frustrating for you! I went through a spell when I wasn’t registering as logged in so my comments just disppeared. I switched browsers and luckily the problem went away. Hopefully you can still enjoy reading, and the comment problems will resolve soon.

  2. 16/02/2015 at 11:57 pm

    There was a time when commenting was difficult for me as well. Hopefully, the situation resolves sooner rather than too much later.

  3. 17/02/2015 at 1:13 am

    So sorry for you. Don’t worry though. We all go through this! Hopefully, it will resolve soon!

    Here is my entry and may be you will be able to drop a line or two 🙂 https://happinessandfood.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/microblogmondays-the-dilemma/

  4. 17/02/2015 at 2:35 am

    Oh, that is so frustrating when you want to connect but can’t! There’s no way to let that intention be known to those you wish to comment on if the comments aren’t being fulfilled. I’ve had issues before where people have emailed me to say their comment didn’t appear and wondered if I deleted it, but it just never showed up anywhere. (I have comment moderation, but I only delete people selling something or people who are obviously just out to hurt others, and luckily I’ve only deleted 3-4 times so far.) I hope you get resolution on the commenting issue soon, it is so nice to have that sense of community, of back-and-forth. Best to you!

  5. Mel
    17/02/2015 at 2:43 am

    I’ve found that when leaving a comment, I have to copy the comment before I press publish because half the time, the blog eats the comment. If I’ve remembered to copy, I can hit paste and try posting again or email it directly to the writer. But yeah, I get it. Especially since WordPress made their whole “you need to be logged in to comment” thing. That’s why I have to use a new email address. If I try to leave a comment on a WordPress blog with my normal email address, it eats it. So I leave it with a new email address and just have that address forward to my normal address.

  6. 17/02/2015 at 5:30 am

    I used to blog daily and comment on so many people’s blogs. Time is shorter now, unfortunately. And I don’t always find the connection that I once used to… some of that is lack of my time to read, some is the fact that IF blogs have simply exploded all over the Web since I started blogging in 2006! I can’t keep up! Regardless, just do what you can. No one will guilt you for it. Sending hugs.

  7. 18/02/2015 at 2:52 pm

    Okay. I don’t know why but this is my third attempt at commenting, and I’ve gone out of the site and in again! Do you think wordpress is taking offence?

    I share your frustrations! Personally I find Disqus blogs the hardest to comment on. And like Mel I have separate identities for wordpress (cos I keep my IF and non-IF identities online separate) and google and gmail. I keep two browsers open on my laptop – one logged in to the IF wordpress account and my Google blogging account, and one logged into my non-IF wordpress account and my Gmail /business account. Sigh. But there’s a non-IF blogger blog I like to comment on, but it insists I be logged in to an account, but I don’t want to link to my IF google account. argh. It gets very complicated.

    • 23/02/2015 at 6:19 pm

      I’m sorry you had trouble responding. Some of my problems stem from having more than one identity. I can be logged in as one, confirm that’s what I’m logged in as, have that email account and webside open – and it changes to the other when I try to post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

