Home > MicroBlogMonday > Surging Ahead

Surging Ahead

I know a 1 minute or 24 hours or 2 weeks are always the same amount of time, however I know I’m not alone in feeling time lag or surge at different points – or both at once. After the dread leading up to my son’s 4th birthday made me feel every second leading up to (and at the same time rushing past) The Day and The Party, I’m suddenly and decisively in fast forward.

Although we’re getting days of snow a low altitudes (not usual for here!), the buds are coming out on our fruit trees, the days are getting longer, and I’m feeling guilty for not having garden plans more advanced. It is only 2 weeks until spring!

And in the spirit of not knowing where life might take us or how long we have on this planet, we’re off overseas again – this time to Japan. Suddenly time is fast forwarding, and I have massive lists of things to do, to plan, and to check that I’d been putting off until after The Party. Now’s the time, and suddenly there’s so little time. Only 7 more weekend days until we leave.

This post is part of Stirrup Queen’s Microblog Mondays. Join in – it doesn’t take long.

Categories: MicroBlogMonday
  1. 17/08/2015 at 9:49 pm

    I can certainly relate. Some days, too much time, others–not nearly enough. Happy 4th Birthday to your son. Here’s to getting through your lists in good order.

  2. 17/08/2015 at 11:34 pm

    Can very much relate to quality of time you describe here. Some moments seem to last an eternity, other times it feels like weeks fly by without warning.

    Hope you have a wonderful journey and are able to get through those lists!

  3. 18/08/2015 at 2:06 am

    Happy 4th to your little one. Hope you get all things in order as you want them to be.

  4. Mel
    18/08/2015 at 3:42 am

    Oooh, have a fun trip to Japan! Oh yes, I get this sensation all too well. I know the days are just days, but they do feel faster at the end of summer.

  5. 18/08/2015 at 12:54 pm

    Time is so fickle, isn’t it? One day it flies by, and others it just drags along. With my Ginny getting ready to start kindergarten in a few weeks, I feel like I’m trying to put the brakes on and slow things down, but it just keeps slipping away.

    Enjoy your trip!

  6. a
    19/08/2015 at 6:49 am

    Japan! Have you been before? That will be quite a trip! I’m not sure if that’s a place I’d like to visit – I’m not a huge fan of crowds or seafood, but the pictures of the scenery there are amazing.

    We were just having a discussion about time – we’ve been in our new building at work for 13 months, and I was noting that it felt like 10 years. My coworker was convinced we’d been here for almost 2 years.

  7. 19/08/2015 at 10:54 am

    Japan’s definitely on my To-Go List. We’ve had a couple of No-Go years, since our five month life’s short” trip two years ago. It’s killing me! Enjoy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

