Home > MicroBlogMonday > A Cop Out

A Cop Out

This post is inspired by Mel’s MicroblogMondays; join in!

I just wrote a different blog post, but just before I hit ‘publish’ I realised I really wasn’t in the mood for the ill-informed comments I was likely to receive. As much as I love discussion and diverse opinions, sometimes I can’t take educating people – especially about donor conception where my feelings can be quite raw.

So instead here is my darling dog, who was always happy to cuddle with me on the bed after ovum pick ups and embryo transfers and who has tolerated (but not loved) the transition to having a boy in the house. She loves having a bit of alone time with me as much as she likes a swim.
A relaxing swim//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Categories: MicroBlogMonday
  1. 24/08/2015 at 11:59 am

    Hmm. I kind of understand where you are at. I have two blog posts in my drafts 1) pre menopause which I am sure is starting to happen to me – for the record I am 37 so this isn’t cool and 2) domestic adoption. Somehow I am not prepared to receive the comments, even though I know they will be supportive. Or sometimes they are just vague HUGS which to me are the worst of all, yet the one I deliver when I am all fuck what do I say here. So. Dog. Gorgeous. Seems like my two which tolerate but don’t love the newbie, self proclaimed boss of the household.

    • 24/08/2015 at 2:55 pm

      Yeah, I can understand not wanting to receive the comments on those posts. The domestic adoption one sounds like it would have especially annoying comments as things are so different in Oz that instead of bouncing your own ideas around and getting things out of your head you’d wind up doing a lot of explaining. And now I feel bad – I’ve probably left a vague HUGS on posts where I don’t want to not leave a comment but don’t know what to say!

      She IS a gorgeous dog. And that about sums it up, ‘self proclaimed boss of the household’! Poor puppies.

      • 24/08/2015 at 2:59 pm

        I have done the hugs way too many times to count but you know when you want something insightful, or probably more specifically you just want to get shit off your chest and you don’t want to feel even more pitiful. Yeah. Definitely hard to explain just how different adoption is in Australia than anywhere else. That’s for sure.

  2. Mali
    25/08/2015 at 2:57 pm

    I have had draft posts hanging around for months before I’ve posted them. I think we need to post only what we feel ready to say (and to hear in return). Your dog looks very happy on his swim!

  3. a
    26/08/2015 at 5:58 am

    Your dog is adorable! I’m hoping that we will someday get a dog, since that is my daughter’s fondest wish. My husband is not a pet person, though, so…we’ll have to see. He made an unthinking promise that I will hold him to – the possibility exists.

    People are sometimes very tiring. Can’t live with ’em, can’t shoot ’em, right? Therefore, dog pictures are an excellent compromise!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

