Home > Uncategorized > We’re Back

We’re Back

If you’re in a part of your journey where photos of people’s children are upsetting, you won’t want to read this post. I understand. I’ve been there!

We’ve been back for a couple weeks. I hadn’t intended to leave it so long until I posted anything, but I’m still processing the trip in many ways – mainly processing the thousands of photos I took. But it being Monday, I’ve decided not to miss another Microblog Monday.

We had both a great time and an awful time. As lucky as I feel for having a 4-year-old to travel with, travelling with a 4-year-old (at least mine) is at times hell. However that’s such a lucky problem and first world problem I dare not say it. There were times I honestly thought it would be better if we went home (or if just I went home), but we’re slowly forgetting those moments and only remembering the happy times. Plus in photos even the worst times look good.

I’m not even half finished going through and posting photos from the trip. I promised myself I wouldn’t include any in this post, but I’m never good at not posting photos.

There were traditional experiences.

E jumping on all the futons. Of course.

Ryokan on Miyajima (Ryoso Kawaguchi)

Scott and E at the Itsukushima Shrine on Miyajima

Itsukushima Shrine on Miyajima

Hi from Himeji

Himeji Castle

 

Matadate shed

Shirakawa-go

There was a lot of exploration.

Megane- bashi (Spectacles Bridge)

Nagasaki – Spectacles Bridge

In we go! Takachiho Gorge

Takachiho Gorge

Symphonic Staircase, Hakone Open Air Museum, by Gabriel Loire

Symphonic Staircase, Hakone Open Air Museum

E in Curved Space Diamond Structure by Peter Pearce

Curved Space Diamond Structure, Hakone Open Air Museum

Kamikochi!

Kamikochi, a national park in the Japanese alps

 

My son embraced the quirky side of Japanese culture…

Still 'falling' off

Kachi Kachi Yama, Kawaguchi

Kawaii construction fencing

Hiroshima JR station

…and had exciting animal encounters

Guess where we are! The lady is SO NICE! And the deer so gentle.

Miyajima

Penguin Patting!

Miyajima aquarium

Monkey George visiting family

Iwatayama Monkey Park, Arashiyama outside Kyoto

We travelled on enough trains that he got over his enthusiasm for them.
On the train with Monkey George

But there were plenty of other fun types of transport to entertain him.

We went for a boat ride on the canal! Bikan quarter, Kurashiki

Kurashiki

He's SO excited to be in a 'table car'

Kobe Nunobiki Herb Gardens & Ropeway

Hozu-gawa River

Hozu-gawa River (near Kyoto)

There was lots of ice cream eating. Actually, we ate ALL the ice cream. Sorry.

Ice cream break, Kanazawa

Kanazawa

 

E was happy here

Miyajima

S and E, sunset on Miyajima

Miyajima

E and Scott at Fushimi-inari-taisha Shrine

Fushimi-inari-taisha Shrine, near Kyoto

We packed a lot into our trip!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 17/11/2015 at 1:46 am

    I totally understand about traveling with a child…it is a lesson in patience amoung other things!

    The pictures are beautiful! I am captivated by the Symphonic Staircase…simply breathtaking!

  2. 17/11/2015 at 4:41 am

    Those are awesome pictures from your trip! I dread traveling with a 4-yo and a 1-yo, but we’re doing it next year. A proper vacation which we have not had for several years…

  3. 17/11/2015 at 12:58 pm

    Those were lovely pics. Thanks for sharing them with us. Which place did you visit in your trip? The background in all the pics is breathtaking 🙂

  4. 17/11/2015 at 1:06 pm

    I’ve always wanted to go to Japan! Love the pictures! Dad has a strong back!

  5. Rebecca
    17/11/2015 at 1:33 pm

    Loved seeing your pics, looked like an amazing trip! I dare say traveling with any four year old is an awful experience at times and one that takes a serious amount of courage to even undertake! I know we’re not brave enough to attempt international travel with ours, he’s challenging enough on a regular basis, so kudos to you guys!

  6. Mel
    17/11/2015 at 2:15 pm

    What incredible pictures. I wish I had been on your trip 🙂 I think my favourite picture is the one where he is looking out the train window, or the final one — I’m a sucker for anything orange.

  7. a
    18/11/2015 at 9:44 am

    That looks amazing, and your little man is adorable! (I think, at some point or another, every trip is horrible and you just want to go home. Maybe a 4 year old makes those moments slightly more frequent, but the memories of the hard times will pass quickly, and you will be so glad to have provided this kind of experience for him.) Wonderful pictures! Now, I’m going to need you to go back and provide detailed descriptions of all the places in the pictures!

    Glad you made it home safe from all your travels. It looks like it was really a wonderful time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

