Home > Uncategorized > MicroBlogMonday: I made it

MicroBlogMonday: I made it

This post is inspired by Stirrup Queens‘s MicroBlog Mondays 71 Ideal House.

Here I am. 2016. During parts of last year I didn’t think I’d make it; I didn’t want to make it. December will always be an especially hard month, but I made it through.

I’m not usually one to look at the year ahead and plan and scheme just because the year has incremented. Every day the future is ahead of us; every day the past is behind us. If we choose renewal, we have constant chances for renewal. If you choose to reflect, you can always reflect.

However this year feels different. I spent time yesterday colour coding my diary to easily show what days this year are school days, which are school holidays, etc. School. Only kindergarten, but still – they’re stealing my boy from me. My only living little boy, who I was allowed to take home and cuddle and be frustrated with and love. In one month we’ll have our first and only first day of school.

In case you haven’t guessed, I’m not ready.

Do you know you have a challenge ahead of you this year? Are you one to reflect and to plan?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 05/01/2016 at 9:55 am

    When our eldest was almost school age, I’d already decided I wanted to homeschool her because I wasn’t ready for school to steal her from me. All these years later, I’m still homeschooling our youngest (15), and the older two (18 & 20) graduated from York Academy (the formal name of our homeschool).

    I usually try to plan in whatever way I can (like your excellent idea to color code the days) when I face a challenge. It helps me to feel in control of the situations.

    Sending lots of good “first day at school” vibes your way for next month!

    • 05/01/2016 at 10:30 am

      I’ve thought about homeschooling. There’s even a great network of other homeschooled children in my area – we see them meeting for picnic lunches together along the rivulet when we go for walks. But selfishly I feel that right now I don’t have the energy. I barely have enough patience for him, which is a terrible thing to admit. And although I’d describe myself in a bit of a ‘slump’ at work, at the best of times I really love my job. Plus he’s such an extrovert that he really gets energy from other people. However I’m trying to balance school with him not thinkig that’s the only place ‘learning’ happens. I’m a bit conflicted, obviously!

      • 05/01/2016 at 1:58 pm

        I completely get that you’re conflicted. One of the few things that aggravated me about the homeschool support groups that I followed years ago, was their firm belief that everyone can, and should, homeschool. I had a friend who decided to pull her child from public school for essentially that reason – she barely lasted a year, and it put a huge strain on their family. I’m sure you can find the balance of learning at home, and learning at school, that works for you. It sounds to me like you’re already well on the way. 🙂

    • 05/01/2016 at 10:31 am

      But also thank you; colour coding the days is my way of trying to feel I have some sort of control. I hadn’t thought of it, but it’s exactly what I’m doing – and that’s not a bad thing.

  2. Mel
    06/01/2016 at 12:44 pm

    Holding you in my heart. The first day of school is hard. (Remember: I didn’t even leave the school! I sat in the library the whole day.) The next day will be hard, too. And maybe the one after that. It will never be easy, but one day you will grow comfortable with it and see all the great things that come with the school years. But it’s hard. Watching them grow up is hard.

  3. a
    07/01/2016 at 8:46 am

    Color coding your days! I love you organized people! Sometimes, I can find the school calendar when I’m looking to see when the next holiday is. It is bittersweet to send them off into the world without you, but it is also a whole new world for them to explore! Good luck adjusting, but I think you’ll come to appreciate his excitement when he comes home to tell you what he’s learned.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

