Home > MicroBlogMonday > Microblog Monday: Never Again

Microblog Monday: Never Again

This post is inspired by Stirrup Queen’s Microblog Mondays.

I have a couple posts in my drafts folder about the fact I’ll never be able to try for another child. They’re too painful and will probably never be published. Let’s not talk about it.

I’ve read a few posts from people about the pain of not having another child. It feels like a horrible thing to mention when so many others are struggling to have one living child or have given up the dream of having one.

However this is real pain. I’m sorry to say it; it feels selfish to say it is. As much as I hated the stupid IVF torture, I miss the microscopic bit of hope that comes with it.

It hurts.

Categories: MicroBlogMonday
  1. 23/02/2016 at 3:14 am

    I don’t think it’s selfish. Your pain is valid, and I’m sorry you’re hurting. (((Hugs)))

  2. a
    24/02/2016 at 11:09 am

    I don’t think it’s selfish either. Talk about it, if it helps you feel better.

  3. Mel
    25/02/2016 at 2:39 am

    You nailed it, exactly. It isn’t that I enjoyed the emotional ups and downs of cycling, but at least there was always a bit of hope. Sending a hug.

  4. 26/02/2016 at 2:23 pm

    This is not a case of the Pain Olympics. You’re allowed to hurt. You’ve been denied something that most people don’t think twice about having. I also have to say, I always said that having hope was a good thing, even when we felt tortured by it. Because the alternative is coming to terms with no hope at all.

    But slowly, you’ll find that you can replace that with new hope for your life and your family. And that is a lovely thing. I wish that for you.

  5. 28/02/2016 at 11:52 am

    Your pain is so valid! Hugs to you!

  6. 29/03/2016 at 4:56 pm

    My obstetrician used to say that secondary infertility is more painful than primary infertility. I doubted that, but then I have no idea. I think it is harder when you know what you are missing out on as well. My take on it is that pain sucks and that whether primary or secondary infertility, it sucks plenty, so nobody should think anyone to be selfish for saying it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

