Home > MicroBlogMonday > MicroBlog Mondays: Nemesis

MicroBlog Mondays: Nemesis

This post is inspired by Mel’s Microblog Mondays #85. Join in!

Oh why oh why did I blog about having one perfect day? Why did I open my window wide and practically call out for Nemesis to fly in?!

At school drop-off a week or two ago Sparky’s teacher let me know that he’d been a bit naughty at school lately – not listening to adults, doing things that require at least one time out per day. And this after an exhausting weekend that had been hard as he’d been especially demanding, i.e. probably the home version of this behaviour. Sigh.

It’s like a kick in the guts. He was perfect when he was born. So perfect. And I’d gone through so much to have him. What is this now – normal, or have I ruined him before he’s even 5? Yeah I know, silly, but it is where my brain goes.

I wish I could be the oue to have time outs. I’d use them wisely, i.e. drink and sleep.

Categories: MicroBlogMonday
  1. 12/04/2016 at 3:08 am

    Perfection is rather a high standard for yourself and Sparky. I think you know that you haven’t ruined him, but sometimes it helps to hear it from someone else.
    As the parent of a mostly non-verbal child, I keep in mind that behavior is communication. Maybe Sparky is trying to tell you something. Or maybe he’s just testing boundaries. Hang in there.

  2. 12/04/2016 at 3:33 am

    Think back… Remember you used to see other people’s misbehaved children… & envy the parents just because they were parents?

  3. 12/04/2016 at 7:43 am

    Oh man. So I often put myself in a mommy time-out. On especially trying days once my husband is home I tell him I need a time-out and I retreat away from the situation. Even if I just lock myself in the bathoroom for 5 minutes it helps so much!

    • 12/04/2016 at 9:50 am

      I can’t lock myself in the bathroom without my dog wanting some alone time with mummy. She’s so sweet. >_<

  4. Mel
    13/04/2016 at 4:34 am

    lshandlefox is smart; listen to her. I don’t know one perfect child, nor do I know one perfect adult. Just people who have good days and bad. People who make good decisions and bad ones. And everyone is just trying to figure it all out.

  5. a
    13/04/2016 at 6:26 am

    You have a spirited child who is exploring his boundaries. Make them firm boundaries, and it will be a bit easier…but he will still challenge them. That’s what brave kids do – they push to see how far they can go. And he’ll be different next year…and the year after that – some changes will be good and some maybe not so good. But always try to find the humor in his antics (when he’s in bed, preferably), so you don’t drive yourself crazy.

    Right now, my 9 year old is horribly jealous of things other kids have or get. Some of it is due to her having a rotten teacher who passive-aggressively shows that she doesn’t like my child. I keep telling her to appreciate the good things she has and don’t worry about the other kids, but she is having a hard time. So, I try to just listen and let her vent, curbing the worst reactions. Above all, though, I don’t beat myself up for not teaching her to avoid materialism – it probably wouldn’t have helped anyway. It’s frustrating that I can’t get through to her, though. There’s a long journey of guiding your child in responding to the world ahead of you – each incident just gives you an idea of which way to steer.

    Besides which, it’s really your civic duty to ruin your child. How else would therapists remain employed, if not for terrible parents? 🙂 (He will be fine, and so will you. Deep breaths.)

  6. 15/04/2016 at 1:52 pm

    I love the idea of you having a time out. Hoping you stop beating yourself up, and manage to find the time to breathe.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

