Home > Uncategorized > Microblog Mondays: WOW

Microblog Mondays: WOW

WOW as in ‘WOW, has it been that long?!’ and ‘WOW, that’s a whole lot of silence!’.

It didn’t feel that long, especially as I’m constantly writing posts in my head. If only they could automagically post here.

I’ve had an interesting few months. I’ve gone through wanting to be so devoted to this space as well as considering deleting the whole thing. I’ve considered changing my ‘name’ and URL as I guess I must admit I’m no longer doing IVF.

I think where I’ve settled is that I still need this space. It holds a part of my heart. And although I’m no longer doing IVF, IVF and loss have changed me. I’m still dealing with that.

So this space will remain. I’d like to focus on the impact of IVF and loss and trying to heal. I think I’ve been living less deliberately than I should. I’ve been  trying to keep my head above water for so long that I’ve come to consider treading water OK. It was for a while, but I think I need to start looking at the next part of my life, of our lives.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. a
    24/08/2016 at 2:30 am

    Roll with the changes!

    And while it would be good to keep the url (so I know where to find you) and username, you could rename your blog and stuff, can’t you? If you feel like you need an update?

    • 24/08/2016 at 2:38 pm

      I’ll still think about it. Part of me is having trouble letting go, so changing some things feels bigger than it should. I’m working on it. Thank you for the suggestions! 🙂

  2. Mel
    25/08/2016 at 4:54 am

    These lines struck home for me: “I think I’ve been living less deliberately than I should. I’ve been trying to keep my head above water for so long that I’ve come to consider treading water OK.” I, too, have been treading water and trying to convince myself that I am totally okay with treading water. I’ll pull you out and make you start swimming again if you’ll pull me.

  3. 26/08/2016 at 2:57 am

    I agree with Mel, your line about treading water really resonated with me. It is exactly how I felt after my ex left and the county wouldn’t let me adopt our first placement alone. For a long time I was out there in deep water, treading and feeling miserable, but I really couldn’t see any other option. I got comfortable in the misery. Eventually, and not easily, I began moving again and I’m certainly in a better spot now, but I so clearly remember that time! Best of luck to you as you move forward. Keep a look-out for a life preserver, you never know when one might float by! 🙂

  4. 30/08/2016 at 10:20 am

    I can understand that it takes a while to let go. I know that too. Keep the name, change it, start a new blog (with a link here or on #MMs so we know where you’ve gone) – whatever works for you. I’m glad you want to keep writing … it is so important for healing. (Plus, I get to read you).

    Your last paragraph is wonderful. It’s reminded me it’s time to start treading water too – or even start swimming – in another aspect of my life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

