Home > Musings > This Dark, Comfortable Place

This Dark, Comfortable Place

I’m in this dark, comfortable place.

Maybe if I looked around, I’d notice that there were horrible things lurking in the corners – horrors without faces or names. Maybe if I looked around, I’d realise how cold and dank it is. Maybe if I looked around, I’d notice that this is no place to live; it is not doing me any good. It is doing harm.

However it is familiar.

Maybe if you were passing buy, you’d tell me that I’m not in a hole. You’d tell me that I just stepped off the kerb. I don’t even need to climb – only step up. You’d probably even extend your hand. You’re good like that. I do appreciate it.

However to really do this I need to see my dark, comfortable place for the dank hole that it is. I need to engage the muscles in my leg all by myself. I might reach out to your hand then – I might even eventually join you on the sunny side of the footpath – but it must be initiated within myself.

Categories: Musings
  1. a
    31/08/2016 at 2:02 am

    Hmmm – not sure what the appropriate response is. Good luck? I know you’ve got the muscle…

    • 31/08/2016 at 9:34 am

      I wouldn’t know how to respond anyway. If it was someone else’s blog I probably wouldn’t; what do you say? However you always say something. Thank you. Although I’m not someone who writes for others, it’s so nice to always have you here. It’s very supportive.

  2. Mel
    02/09/2016 at 8:10 am

    I’m just standing here, next to the hole, waiting to hear if you want a hand. But more so you know that you’re not alone in that darkness; there are people right on the outside.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

