Home > MicroBlogMonday, Positive Changes > Too Rich and Too Thin

Too Rich and Too Thin

No – not that kind of rich or thin.

Over 9 years ago now – HOW?! – my beautiful dog died suddenly of kidney cancer. This was in the middle of failed cycles (7 stim and 3 thaw at that point), happened suddenly, and coping was difficult. One of my strategies at the time was to teach myself to knit. I knitted a scarf and hat for my husband. They took forever, but they weren’t bad. And it was a good strategy. I was concentrating hard on what I was doing, so gave my brain a break from grieving.

After Blobby had died but my friend whose baby was due the day after he should have been born was thriving, for some reason I took up quilting. I lost myself in trying to figure out the measurements and colours – and used it as a way to make her a gift that I hoped said ‘it’s not ok, but of course it’s ok’. She understood.

I’ve kept at both crafts and have increased my skills a lot. These are of course on top of other things I like to do to occupy my time, such as photography, gardening, etc and now of course being Sparky’s mum.

I’m using this rich selection of pursuits to try to ‘drown my sorrows’, however I need to rethink my approach. I constantly have too many projects on the go, and I’m spreading myself too thin. I think I’m cluttering my day and becoming addicted to not having any down time. While this used to not give me space to let evil thoughts in (this doesn’t work any more), it also leaves no space to just be.

So I’m trying to organise my time and try to bring some balance. I love all of the things I do, but in order to enjoy them more I need to step back. Prioritise. Put myself and my enjoyment of them into the centre rather than an ever growing project list driving me. I can’t spread myself so thin that I’m at breaking point any more.

This post is inspired by Stirrup Queen‘s MicroBlog Mondays. Join the conversation.

  1. 05/09/2016 at 11:46 pm

    It’s interesting that knitting and crafts which were therapeutic years ago seem anxiety-producing now. How about meditation? Even if you start with 5 minutes a day, it will quiet your mind and help clean out the emotional and mental clutter the rest of the day. Best of luck!

  2. a
    07/09/2016 at 1:56 am

    I have a hoarder’s supply of yarn for crocheting and knitting, but I only really do that in the winter because it’s too hot in summer.

    I think it’s important to prioritize things that bring you enjoyment, because otherwise your schedule gets crowded with THE THINGS THAT MUST GET DONE! But if your projects become those things…it’s probably time to take a break.

  3. Mel
    07/09/2016 at 9:51 am

    A good point. That even hobbies can take away our down time and become more of an obligation than an enjoyment.

  4. 09/09/2016 at 11:33 am

    Balance is always important. Recognising that, seeing that you might be out of balance, is such an important step, and one that many of us really struggle to take.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

