Home > Musings > Back from NZ

Back from NZ

We’re back from NZ! I intended to post from the road, but I didn’t. By evening I was so exhausted and for once made a decision early in the trip that I deserved nights off. I only posted a couple photos per day, so now I have the big task of going through photos, writing up posts on my other blogs, etc – all made a bit more tiresome as I still haven’t replaced the laptop that died. But here’s a sample of our trip.

We started in Christchurch, which – wow. It really brings home how even though we can see footage of things and so many photos but still can’t understand what it is like to be there. I found it at once devastatingly sad as well as fascinating to see how a city can rebuild and reinvent itself. We were in Christchurch only 3 days, but I loved it. I could live there.
Christchurch contrasts

The boy wouldn’t have minded living there if he could always exist in this playground.
Playground time again//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

When we left we headed south. We followed Mali‘s suggestions and visited a playground and the Moeraki Boulders. I loved the Moeraki Boulders!!
Moeraki Boulders//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Dunedin was lovely, then we headed off on an extremely wild and windy day to see the Caitlins. It felt like quite an achievement not being blown off the cliff when we visited the Nugget Point Lighthouse.
Today's achievement: not being blown off the Nugget Point Lighthouse track//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

We eventually made our way to Fiordlands and Milford Sound, which was stunningly beautiful.
We couldn't resist going back to Milford Sound today.//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

People rave about Queenstown, and the setting is absolutely stunning, but UGH THE PEOPLE. I quite loved heading OUT of town.
The road to Cardrona//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

I much pereferred Wanaka, and I enjoyed quiet kayaking on the lake. Next we headed of to the west coast and saw some glaciers, interesting rock formations, and even more stunning scenery.
Coffee and breakfast views//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Punakaiki - Pancake Rocks - Paparoa National Park//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Queen Charlotte Sound//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Before we left the south island we spent a day wine tasting, which was a Very Good Thing.
Our last full day on the south island was spent tasting wine in the Marlborough region.//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

That was the 1st half of our trip. Maybe it’s a good thing that I don’t have many photos posted yet!

Categories: Musings
  1. a
    10/05/2017 at 7:26 am

    Wow – that looks AMAZING! My daughter would love that playground too. And that’s only the first half? But what was wrong with the people of Queenstown? Now I need to know! 😀

    • 10/05/2017 at 8:56 am

      It’s not necessarily the people OF Queenstown, but how many people were IN Queenstown. It’s a major tourist ‘hotspot’, and there were just TOO MANY PEOPLE. It had meant that although I booked our accommodation over 6 months ago it wasn’t very nice, but everything you might want to do is super crowded and expensive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

